Two Kinds of Upasana

Nitu Nandan ~ Amritananda (Disciple of Swami Mounamurti Saraswati)

Gurur-Brahmaa Gurur-Vissnnur-Gururdevo Maheshvarah
Gurureva Param Brahma Tasmai Shrii-Gurave Namah

Upasana is of two kinds,

Saguna-Upasana and Nirguna-Upasana or meditation on the formless and attributeless Brahman. Meditation on GOD GURU etc, and nirguna upasana meditation on without form.

Aim of both upasana is self awakening, but according to Hinduism two paths are here Saguna and Nirguna.

Nirguna means without shape, without name formless, Samadhi comes from nirguna, ignoring the self, maya and existence of things

If you are watching anything not only the Guru’s picture or Ishta’s picture for meditation that is saguna. Even while in meditation if you are thinking about OM and concentration on a meditation centre that is saguna, because your mind is still active and trying to concentrate. In nirguna there is no need to concentrate on anything (it is spontaneous) this is self samadhi, bliss of the supreme power. In pure Samadhi there is no struggle about the existence of GOD, or non-existence.

Complete devotion state of Samadhi, Nirguna is bhakti with complete surrender to brahma without concentration on brahma, nirguna Samadhi comes from nirguna upasana. Nirguna upasana is path of self awakening, a path of pure awakening without awareness of the body and mind. Only the soul is active and connected to the formless supreme power. Samadhi means nirguna bhakti, that is last stage of Samadhi where there is no confusion. There is no Question about reality or illusion, only the soul exists.


There is no difference between time and space, if someone is doing nirguna upasana he/she has no questions, as all questins have disappeared.

Om is the last stage of Saguna meditation, after that Nirguna Samadhi and Sat-Chit-Ananda Moksha emerges. The Jiva has come to the end of the circle and meged into non dual supreme soul like the river merging in the ocean there is no separate identity.

Nirguna is knowing truth, knowing the God that he/she has no form. The soul is a part of the supreme soul, and in nirguna the soul is merged in the supreme soul.

If our soul does not have form, then how can the supreme soul have form?

“Shakti is in Bhakti. O lord my Bhakti (Devotion) is nothing without you.

Bhakti is not the duty of human beings, but is the relationship and devotion towards Brahma

Upasana takes the yogi to Moksa (salvation).

By Nitu Nandan – Amritananda (Disciple of Swami Mounamurti Saraswati)

Article from the upcoming book, Silent Amrit.

KRP The Brain